The 2019 Hall of Fame Inductee is Gwenyth Graham (AM).

Gwenyth received her schooling through the Correspondence School in 1938 and 1940. She became the first Correspondence School student to receive a scholarship to Perth Modern School, at that time a selective school educating young people for entry to the University of Western Australia. She studied at the University, achieving graduate and post-graduate qualifications, before studying nursing and midwifery. She travelled with her husband to Derby, and then later to developing countries where she worked with youth and women’s groups in addition to schooling her own children through the WA Correspondence School. Her commitment to social justice is seen in her active engagement social issues, and through her work with Amnesty International, and coordinating support services for refugee families with the Coalition Assisting Refugees After Detention (CARAD).


She was awarded the Order of Australia (AM) in 2005 “For service to the community, particularly Indigenous people, refugees and asylum seekers through a range of church and welfare organisations in Western Australia.”

Gwenyth Graham AM Gwenyth’s name and achievements will join those of the Inaugural Inductees to the Hall of Fame.
  • Clarence Eakins, the first Headmaster of the Correspondence School, and a pioneer of distance education in Western Australia.
  • Sadie Canning MBE. Western Australia’s first Aboriginal nurse and matron.
  • Tonya McCusker AM. Ballet dancer, lawyer, and Administrator and Director of the McCusker Charitable Foundation.
  • Dr Martin Dougiamas. Founder and CEO of Moodle Pty Ltd
  • Troye Sivan Mellet. Actor and performer.
  • Tamsin Cook. Swimmer and WA Olympian.
Print this page